| T 4 minutes to read |

AVIXA Award Winners Revealed; Honorees to be Recognized at InfoComm 2020 Connected


AVIXA, the Audiovisual and Integrated Experience Association, announced the 2020 recipients of its annual awards, naming EAV's Mark Higgason CTS Holder of the Year.


Honorees will be recognized in a virtual ceremony during InfoComm 2020 Connected on Wed., June 17 at 5 p.m. EDT. The AVIXA Awards recognize outstanding AV professionals for their contributions to the industry. Members of the industry nominate individuals for the Adele De Berri Pioneers of AV, CTS Holder of the Year, Educator of the Year, Fred Dixon Service in Education, Mackey Barron Distinguished Achievement, Women in AV, and Young AV Professionals awards.


“Day in and day out, AV professionals leave impressions on the people they meet and the spaces they help create,” said David Labuskes, CTS, CAE, RCDD, Chief Executive Officer, AVIXA. “Each year, AVIXA is honored to shine a spotlight on individuals who are helping the industry grow, whether it’s through teaching, breaking down barriers, or pioneering new technology and ideas. Congratulations to the 2020 AVIXA Awards winners and thank you for all your contributions to the AV industry.”


CTS Holder of the Year Award
Mark Higgason, CTS-D, CTS-I
Executive Vice President and Partner, Encompass Audio Visual LLC

Higgason has been working professionally with audio and electronics for more than 20 years. He has helped Encompass AV grow from an unfunded start-up to a multi-million-dollar operation. Higgason is determined to make human-centric technologies a common thing in the workplace and beyond.


Other honorees included:

Adele De Berri Pioneers of AV Award — Bruce Howze

Educator of the Year Award — Jonathan Brawn, CTS

Emerging Talent Award — Edinys Guzman

Event Design of the Year Award  — Meredith Francsis

Fred Dixon Service in Education Award  — Steve Thorburn, PE, LEED-AP, CTS-D, CTS-I

Harald Thiel Volunteer of the Year Award  — Lisa Perrine, Ed.D.

Mackey Barron Distinguished Achievement Award  — Ben Adams

Women in AV Award  — Sarah Becher, CTS-D, CTS-I

Women in AV Award  — Melissa Ross, PE, CTS\

Young AV Professionals Award  — Sean McChesney, CTS

Young AV Professionals Award — Gregory Rushton, CTS-D


AVIXA® is the Audiovisual and Integrated Experience Association, producer of InfoComm trade shows around the world, co-owner of Integrated Systems Europe, and the international trade association representing the audiovisual industry. Established in 1939, AVIXA has more than 11,400 enterprise and individual members, including manufacturers, systems integrators, dealers and distributors, consultants, programmers, live events companies, technology managers, content producers, and multimedia professionals from more than 80 countries. AVIXA members create integrated AV experiences that deliver outcomes for end users. AVIXA is a hub for professional collaboration, information, and community, and is the leading resource for AV standards, certification, training, market intelligence, and thought leadership. Visit avixa.org.